DUI | OWI | Drunk Driving
Have you been arrested or charged with driving under the influence? Regardless if you’re guilty or not, you need a DUI attorney to represent you. Call the Grand Rapids offices of Mark Caldwell any time, day or night. We pride ourselves on the attention we give to our clients.
Driver's License Restoration
Losing your license is a huge burden! Life is simply difficult without a driver's license and nothing beats getting it back, and we can make that happen for you! Located in Grand Raids, MI, call us day or night! We want to hear from you and how we can help you get back on the road!
Michigan’s new expungement laws maintain the typical process, where a person eligible to have an offense set aside must demonstrate to the court that issued the conviction that they deserve the expungement. This will be done through an evaluation of their actions from the date of conviction until the date of the petition.
Looking to hire a criminal lawyer? Look no further! Our team is capable of providing you with transparent and calculated legal counsel. The three things to consider when hiring an attorney are: experience, fees, and personality. Our experienced team provides you with an upfront and cost-effective strategy to face your problems head on.
Under Michigan law, a traffic violation is classified as either a civil infraction or a misdemeanor. In most situations, traffic violations are negotiable. Hiring an attorney to negotiate a ticket may appear to be more expensive than simply paying the ticket, but that is often not the case. Let us help you navigate a ticket reduction and save you money and time in the long run!
USE OF MARIJUANA
Marijuana use is the least serious marijuana related charge in Michigan, but it is still a misdemeanor offense. If there is evidence that you smoked, used, or consumed pot/marijuana/weed, you can be charged with marijuana use. Marijuana use is subject to penalties of up to 90 days in jail and a $1000 fine.
Driving Consequences: 1st offense is 6 month suspension and you can get a restricted after 30 days. However if we can get a plea of 7411 you will be able to keep your license in most courts. 2nd offense is a 1 year suspension and you can get a restricted after 60 days.
TRAFFIC MISDEMEANORS INFORMATION
Driving With a Licence Suspended 1st and 2nd
Fail to Report Accident
Fail to Stop After Collision
Fail to Stop at Personal Injury Accident
Fail to User Due Care When Passing
Minor in Possesion
No Ops on Person
OWI 1st and 2nd Offense, OWVI 1st and 2nd Offense
Refuse to Obey Traffic Order
Domestic Violence: What to Know
What is the most important thing to know about a Domestic Violence Charge?
MCL 769.4a authorizes a court, without entering a judgment of guilt and with the consent of the accused and of the prosecuting attorney in consultation with the victim, to defer further proceedings in an assault and battery case when an individual who has not been convicted previously of an assaultive crime pleads guilty to, or is found guilty of, assault and battery under MCL 750.81 AND 81A. The victim of the assault must be the offender’s spouse or former spouse, an individual who has a child in common with the offender, an individual who has or has had a dating relationship with the offender, or an individual residing in the same household as the offender. THIS DEFERRAL can be utilized only if the accused has no prior assaultive conviction. For law enforcement, although a judgment of guilt is not entered, the arrest and the disposition by utilization of the deferral statue will appear on the criminal record of the defendant. Prosecutors are reluctant to offer this plea to a defendant if he is not represented. You only get one bite at the apple, if you represent yourself and are not offered 769.4a it makes much more difficult for me to try to get the plea.
Assault & Battery: Misdemeanors
Assault and battery is typically considered a misdemeanor charge and is punishable by up to 93 days in jail and fines up to $500.
Aggravated assault is a misdemeanor in Michigan. It is defined by Michigan statute as an assault, without a weapon, that results in a serious or aggravated injury. This misdemeanor is punishable by up to 1 year in prison and up to $1,000 in fines. However, if you have prior assault convictions on your record, the prosecution may pursue a harsher, enhanced sentence.
Consequences of Violation of Probation
Upon finding a probationer guilty of violating a condition of probation, a sentencing court may:
Continue probation without punishment for the violation
Modify the conditions of probation or extend the period of probation
Revoke probation and sentence the defendant on the underlying offense.
Probation - Revocation
The granting of probation is a matter of grace with no vested right to its continuance. If during probation it appears that the probationer is likely to again engage in criminal conduct, the court may revoke probation.
If probation is revoked, the court may sentence the probationer in the same manner and to the same penalty as it could have done if probation had never been granted.
Will my deferred sentence be revoked if I violate probation?
Unfortunately, in my many years of experience, almost every Judge will revoke the deferred sentence. If you find an attorney that states otherwise he is lying to you to get you as a client. With probation violations your probation officer will make a recommendation to judge and will most likely appear in court. My office works with the probation officer and the judge to get the best possible results.